DART Commission Elects Local Leaders to Executive Committee

Posted on February, 5 2024

DART Commission headshots

The Des Moines Area Regional Transit Authority (DART) Board of Commissioners has elected the following city leaders to serve on DART’s Executive Committee for 2024:

  • Mayor Russ Trimble (West Des Moines) – Chair
  • Council Member Ross Grooters (Pleasant Hill) – Vice Chair
  • Council Member Bridget Carberry Montgomery (Urbandale) – Secretary 
  • Mayor Connie Boesen (Des Moines) 
  • Council Member Joseph Jones (Windsor Heights)

“We appreciate the commitment these elected leaders are making to guide the direction of our public transit system,” said DART CEO Amanda Wanke. “This is an especially important time as we determine funding and service levels for the next several years and begin to reimagine public transit for the future. DART staff looks forward to partnering with all member communities to determine the best path forward for a service we know is critical to fostering a healthy, thriving community.”

The DART Commission is comprised of a local elected official from each of DART’s 12 member community governments. The Commission is a volunteer group that sets policy and oversees DART’s budget. The Executive Committee helps set the DART Commission’s agenda and provides additional direction on planning, service, funding and other strategic decisions to present to the full board.

Learn more here.

The Des Moines Area Regional Transit Authority (DART) is Iowa’s largest, and only, regional transit agency, providing service in and around Polk County. DART operates a family of transportation services, providing 3.2 million annual rides that connect thousands of people every day to jobs, school, healthcare and other essential destinations. Twelve communities make up DART’s service area, where the agency carries out its mission to enrich lives, connect communities and expand opportunities for central Iowans. For more information about DART services, schedules, route changes, or directions to the nearest DART stop, visit the website at ridedart.com, download the free MyDART app or call 515-283-8100.

Trip Planner
Next DART Bus