About the Plan About the Plan

DART Forward 2035 Year Five Update
Adopted following public survey of non-riders, riders and people who used to ride in 2016.

DART Forward Non-Rider Survey
Complete survey results for survey conducted by ETC Institute in Winter 2016. 

DART Forward 2035 Plan
Complete plan adopted in 2011.


Get Involved Get Involved

Does your organization want a presentation about DART Forward? 

Request DART at your meeting.


Public Meetings Public Meetings

DART hosted a second round of public meetings, as well as meetings with area organizations, this fall to garner feedback on the proposed year five updates to the DART Forward 2035 plan

For full list of past events,
please click here.

DART Forward 2035 Overview

DART is undergoing a study to update the DART Forward 2035 Transit Services Plan to ensure that it continues to meet the mobility needs of the growing Greater Des Moines community. 
The DART Forward 2035 long-range transit services plan was adopted in September 2011, and implementation began in June 2012. This investment in transit has resulted in:
  • A 9 percent increase in ridership from 2013 to 2015;
  • Opening of a new transfer station in downtown Des Moines with launch of a redesigned route network;
  • Shorter wait times between trips;
  • Service later on weekdays and earlier and later on weekends to better align with retail hours; and
  • Additional or expanded routes to serve more places in the region.

Year Five Update Objectives

  • Engage riders and the general public throughout the entire process to ensure the updated service plan meets the needs and wants of the community.
  • Determine how population and development patterns have changed since the original study and identify any unmet needs.
  • Analyze ridership and service performance to determine how riders responded to the original DART Forward 2035 service changes and identify opportunities for improvement.
  • Develop a transit service plan that is consistent with helping the Greater Des Moines region realize The Tomorrow Plan’s vision for being a livable and sustainable region.

Advisory Committee

A DART Forward 2035 Advisory Committee, made up of representatives from businesses, human service agencies, chambers, and other organizations across the community, will help ensure the industries and people they represent are heard throughout the process, and the plan developed meets the needs of the region. Members include:
Todd Ashby -- Des Moines Area MPO
Elisabeth Buck – United Way
Eric Burmeister – Polk County Housing Trust Fund
Jake Christensen – Christensen Development  
Eric Crowell – Unity Point Health
Angie Dethlefs-Trettin – The Community Foundation of Greater Des Moines
Jason Gross – Nationwide
Amber Lynch – City of Des Moines
Michele Meadors – State Independent Living Council
Matt Nuetzman – Representing Local Chambers of Commerce
Mark Phillips – Polk County Continuum of Care Board
Tim Schott – Des Moines Public Schools
Cory Sharp – Young Professionals Connection
Connie Eastman – AARP
Gretchen Tegeler – Taxpayers Association of Central Iowa
Bethany Wilcoxon – The Greater Des Moines Partnership
Nick Wuertz – Lutheran Services in Iowa


Trip Planner
Next DART Bus
Bus Stop Finder